ENCOURAGEMENT

Encouraging another does not come naturally for some people. In fact, there are some who seem to have either a jealous streak or negative comment toward any endeavor an artist attempts. This is true not just in the visual arts, but in all creative arts. People either “get” what you’re attempting to do or they don’t. Those who do not seem to relish squashing ideas, ruling out any possibility of success, or question your motives. Oh my….can’t they just let us be?

Creatives are sensitive, but it’s imperative that we turn a deaf ear to the naysayers. Because of our unique sensitivities there could even be a tendency to be a chameleon artist who buys into all the doubt quickly shifting a productive mood to one of wallowing self-doubt. Do NOT fall for that!

I am truly one of those who have difficulty shaking off negativity delivered to me by others. Especially when it’s from someone close to me. Over time I’ve tried to use it as a catalyst for productivity, even if it means I create something with a thread of anger running through it. Keeping my eye on the prize is my goal, though I’m not always pleased with the end result. The prize, for me, is completion of a project under the most dire of circumstances. I can stand back and evaluate the product, and hopefully it results in an intensely passionate piece of art that moves me as well as other viewers. It’s a hit or miss proposition, but regardless, I can know I overcame the unwanted commentary from outside sources.

Be an encourager to every creative you meet whether a beginner sculptor, an intermediate painter, fledgling songwriter, or experienced writer. Pull the lever that catapults them to reach higher and further than they believed they could. Help them to believe in their ability to create, and keep your negativity to yourself. They have enough stacked against them to overcome without your comments. Constructive criticism is helpful, not destructive. You know the old saying, “If you can’t say anything good, don’t say anything at all.”

Claudia Lowery

March 6, 2017

Leave a Reply

